Created By: Ithaca Heritage
Located at 6 McLallen Street is a modestly scaled Greek Revival-style structure. This building is remarkable both for its architecture and the disparate uses it has served. Number 6 McLallen Street was originally constructed as a lecture room to serve the community’s Baptist congregation when its church was lost to fire. Dedicated on July 8th, 1849, it was financed by member subscriptions and built on land owned by Lemuel D. Branch, brother-in-law of James McLallen. In 1903, the property passed to the Trumansburg Band for use as a practice hall. Beginning in 1927, the Stewart Funeral Home stored its inventory of coffins here. In the 1950s, the front doors were widened and a cement driveway was installed for its next use: an automobile garage. Architecturally, the Doric temple front is unique in the area, while its Greek Revival style is shared by the Conservatory of Fine Arts across the street. Local bluestone was used to construct the foundation.
This point of interest is part of the tour: The Village of Trumansburg