Created By: Temple Beth El
Built in 1826, the Federal-style building originally housed a Methodist church and served as a stop on the Underground Railroad. A door along the balcony exposes a roughly 200-year-old ladder leading to an attic where Canada-bound slaves hid during the Civil War. In 1905 a congregation of Polish Jews from Bialystok converted the building into a synagogue, transporting a stunning, three-story ark from Italy. Paintings of zodiac symbols corresponding to Jewish calendar months span the sanctuary ceiling. Bialystoker offers frequent services to its 300-member congregation.
Link to photo at http://www.nycjewishtours.org/images/bialystoker/bstkr2.jpg
This point of interest is part of the tour: 5th Grade Lower East Side Tour