Created By: Ithaca Heritage
The Eight Square Schoolhouse is a one-room, octagonal building located on Hanshaw Road in Dryden. It was established in 1827 by a group of farmers who wanted a new school for their children. This school produced many famous local alumni, including town supervisors and county sheriffs. One graduate of the Eight Square School was Mary Ann Wood, who would go on to marry Ezra Cornell. The Eight Square School closed in 1941 when the Dryden School District was centralized. In 1955, it became the property of the DeWitt Historical Society (now The History Center) of Tompkins County. Since the early 1990s, The History Center has been running an educational program at the Eight Square Schoolhouse. Elementary schoolers from around the district now visit this school on field trips, dressed up in old-fashioned clothes, and they receive an authentic experience of a school day in a different era.
This point of interest is part of the tour: Ithaca Heritage Sampler