Created By: The History Center in Tompkins County
Located at 22 McLallen Street is the Mud House. The Mud House was built by William H. McLallen (1812-1887) in 1848. William was a son to John McLallen (1773-1844) and Maria Himrod McLallen (1792-1870). This house is unique for its use of unburnt brick masonry, hence its peculiar name. Adobe construction is rare in Central New York, and this house is the sole example of the technique in Trumansburg. The smooth stucco finish is generally unbroken by detail, save for a few Greek Revival and Gothic Revival-style flourishes, including frieze windows and decorative rake boards. Also notable is the use of exposed bluestone lintels above the windows and entrance on the principal façade.
This point of interest is part of the tour: The Village of Trumansburg