Created By: chris bradley
The historic centre of Greenock.
Cathcart Square was the civic and commercial heart of Greenock. The church, known locally as the ‘Toon Kirk’ was bult in 1760 with its 146 foot high steeple added in 1787. A handsome classical church, its iconic portico and steeple were modelled on St Martin-in-the-Fields Church in London. The horseshoe embedded between the church and the fountain was the location for hangings and public floggings.
The ornate Lyle central fountain was gifted to the town by Provost Abram Lyle in 1880. It was designed by Mr F.A. Scudamore of Coventry. Bronze shields which bear the crests of the Ardgowan and Cartsburn families and 16 other prominent families of Greenock can be seen above the fountain.
Abram Lyle was a successful businessman born in Greenock in 1820 and was a partner in the largest shipping fleet in Greenock, transporting sugar from the West Indies.With four business partners Lyle bought the Glebe Sugar refinery in 1865. He was the Provost of Greenock from 1876 – 1879.
The Clydesdale Bank building, now known as The Square was built in 1899 by architect James Thomson – he sculptures above the windows depict Greenock’s history of shipbuilding and trade.