Created By: CDMRA
The Goldenrod footbridge, which spans Bayside Drive, is a charming structure that represents a bygone era when Newport Beach city officials were looking for new ways to attract new residents to Corona del Mar. In the late 1920s, the majority of homes in Corona del Mar were located on the bluffs overlooking the ocean. The view was one reason for this, but the other was that scrambling up and down the steep slope to cross Bayside Drive, sometimes known as "Pacific Gulch," was a deterrent for potential home buyers. In 1926, the section of Coast Highway that runs through Corona del Mar opened, making the inland area easily accessible for the first time. However, the expected development boom did not occur immediately. In 1927, the City Council began discussing the possibility of building a footbridge across Bayside Drive so that people could reach the beach in minutes. City officials believed that improved beach access would also boost property values. Despite objections from property owners in the assessment district who would have to pay for the bridge, the council approved the project. The 243-foot steel-reinforced concrete bridge was built by contractors between mid-May and early August 1928. While the bridge's completion did not result in a land rush in Corona del Mar, it has become a beloved part of the community. Artists Rex Brandt and Joan Irving Brandt eventually built their home and studio, Blue Sky, on Goldenrod next to the bridge. They taught classes at Blue Sky and hosted other artists for many years. The bridge was a popular subject of their paintings.
This point of interest is part of the tour: CdM Coast Highway