Created By: Pipestone County Historical Society
This 24-foot wide Sioux quartzite structure was built for Fraser Mackay in a Romanesque influenced style. The focal point of the two-story building is the second floor oriel window. There is also a small white namestone in the upper west corner that reads "F. Mackay 1898."
Besides housing dry goods and grocery stores, the GEM Theater operated here from 1909 to 1929. In 1913 the first floor was remodeled with an additional 55 feet being added to the rear and the original iron balcony removed from the front facade. The S&L Department Store took over the building in 1929-1934. The building next housed a furniture store and then a bakery/cafe. The building facade was again remodeled in 1964 with the removal of the oriel window and colored tiles were placed over the front face. In 1977 the storefront was restored including the restoration of the oriel window, front door, and windows.
This point of interest is part of the tour: Pipestone Commercial Historic District