Tribal Delegates at Congressional Cemetery

Guide to Indigenous DC

Tribal Delegates at Congressional Cemetery

Washington, District of Columbia 20016, United States

Created By: Dr. Elizabeth Rule - The Guide To Indigenous Lands Project


The Congressional Cemetery, founded in 1807, is the resting site of 36 Native American delegates, dignitaries, and advocates, and their families, who passed on while working on behalf of their people in the nation's capital. These individuals came to Washington as representatives of twelve tribal nations.

In alphabetical order by tribe:

Arapaho: Taza (chief)

Cherokee: Charlotte J. Coodey, Henrietta Jane Coodey, William Shorey Coodey (legislator), Judge Richard Fields (judge and administrator), Joseph V. Hitchcock, Captain John Looney, Captain James McDaniel (delegate and senator), Susan Agnes Paschal, Captain Thomas Pegg (senator and associate judge), Child Rogers, Captain John Rogers (principal chief), Johnson K. Rogers (attorney), Ezekial Starr (delegate), Bluford West (judge)

Chippewa: A Moose or Little Bee (head chief), Osk Kaw Bu Wis (chief and delegate), St. Germain (chief and delegate)

Choctaw: Emmett Kennedy, Lee Pitchlynn, Peter P. Pitchlynn (delegate), Sophia Pitchlynn (princess), Thomas Pitchlynn, Samson Pitchlynn, Push-Ma-Ta-Ha (chief and diplomat)

Creek: Daniel S. Aspberry (delegate), Efar Emarthlar (delegate)

Dakota: Kan Ya Tu Duta (US Army scout, delegate)

Kiowa: O Com O Cost (delegate), Waub-O-Jeag (delegate)

Lakota: Frederick D. Broken Rope

Nez Perce: Ut Sin Malikan (delegate)

Pawnee: Tuk A Lix Tah (delegate), Oscar Carey (performer)

Sac and Fox: QuahQuahMahPeQuah (delegate)

Winnebago: Prophet (delegate)

Get Driving/Transit/Walking/Biking Directions

Explore Sources:

This point of interest is part of the tour: Guide to Indigenous DC


Leave a Comment



Download the App

Download the PocketSights Tour Guide mobile app to take this self-guided tour on your GPS-enabled mobile device.

iOS Tour Guide Android Tour Guide



Updates and Corrections

Please send change requests to