Victoria City Boundary Stone


Victoria City Boundary Stone

Hong Kong Island Hong Kong

Created By: hkbu


City Boundary Stone, also known as the Fourth Ring and Nine Treaties Boundary Monument, it is a set of boundary markers along the edge of the former Hong Kong Victoria City (the Chinese Fourth Ring and Nine Treaties). It was erected in 1903 to mark the boundary of Victoria City.

Victoria City was established after the British occupied Hong Kong Island in 1841. In 1903, the British Hong Kong government decided to set up boundary markers on the city boundary to make the public more aware of the scope of Victoria City. The boundary monument is a square cylinder with a cone-shaped top, 98 cm high, and engraved with the words "CITY BOUNDARY 1903"

Because of World War II and urban expansion, some of these boundary markers have been destroyed or moved, and the number and specific locations of boundary markers established at that time are also difficult to study. At present, there are only six Victorian Boundary Monuments remaining in the following locations

This point of interest is part of the tour: Peak


Leave a Comment



Download the App

Download the PocketSights Tour Guide mobile app to take this self-guided tour on your GPS-enabled mobile device.

iOS Tour Guide Android Tour Guide



Updates and Corrections

Please send change requests to