Wanzek Trading Post & Scout History Center

Camp Wilderness: Historic Trails

Wanzek Trading Post & Scout History Center

Park Rapids, Minnesota 56470, United States

Created By: North Dakota State University


The Wanzek Trading Post & Scout History Center was dedicated in 2013. The original building was constructed in 1951 with the Wanzek addition remodeled and added to in 2013-2014. The original building was the quartermaster shop (QM), trading post, and freezer storage for the kitchen. It now houses an adult leader study, quartermaster shop, the Camp Wilderness History Center, and the trading post. The trading post has lots of storage space, a private bathroom and lofted bedroom, an office area for the Business Manager or other staff as needed.

In 2010, Jon Wanzek began a discussion with Brad Olson (Reservation Director) about repairing or remodeling the existing trading post. The building hadn't changed from when Jon was a Scout at Camp in the 1970s. Planning continued with Mark Holtz and Ron Schneider (Council Staff), as well as with architect Craig Helenske. The goal was to make a unique building that could house the history center and trading post while still preserving the look and feel of the historic building. Lumber for the addition was locally sourced and the trees that were displaced by construction became the wood columns at the front of the building. Graffiti from decades of prior campers is still visible inside the building in the history center and by the archives of the Alumni Association of Northern Lights Camps.

This point of interest is part of the tour: Camp Wilderness: Historic Trails


Leave a Comment



Download the App

Download the PocketSights Tour Guide mobile app to take this self-guided tour on your GPS-enabled mobile device.

iOS Tour Guide Android Tour Guide



Updates and Corrections

Please send change requests to changerequest@pocketsights.com.