This is the approximate location of the old Franklin Street Jail. It was demolished in 1888. The Phillips Block was put up in its place. The intersection, which does not exist anymore is Franklin & Spring. Widening and extending Spr... Read more
This is where we will talk about the 1903 Jail. Justice Street was removed in 1930, as the photo shows. Since everyone loves a good tunnel story, tell them about the 1970 story right there on Spring Street. Explore that the 1886 jail was ... Read more
This is where we are going to talk about the Hall of Records. It is the location of the Hall of Justice, 1925. The Alhambra Hotel was next door as well. Talk about the tunnels here too which were buit for the Hall of Records. Don't forget... Read more
The Hall of Records, 1911, Hundson & Munsell. On September 10, 1910, there was an attempt to blow up the half-finished structure; it was being constructed with iron from the non-union Llewellyn Iron Works. Maple, Conners & Bende... Read more
Leave a Comment
Download the App
Download the PocketSights Tour Guide mobile app to take this self-guided tour on your GPS-enabled mobile device.