The Village of Dryden

A self-guided walking tour featuring Dryden's architectural history

The Village of Dryden

Dryden, New York 13053, United States

Created By: Ithaca Heritage

Tour Information

This tour was developed by Historic Ithaca Inc.

The Village of Dryden, settled in 1797, is a vibrant rural community in the heart of the Finger Lakes region. Located at the center of the Town of Dryden, the village was established at the crossing of two main roads, one running north to Cortland and the other running east to Virgil. Today, this historic crossroads remains at the core of downtown Dryden. The village boasts a charming business district, while the surrounding countryside is dotted with small farms and forests.

This brief tour features some of Dryden's noteworthy historic and architectural landmarks, including eight structures listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Each site highlights a unique aspect of Dryden's development, a story that has been unfolding for over 200 years. Join us!

Please use discretion when approaching private property. Thank you and we hope you enjoy the Village of Dryden Tour!


Tour Map

Loading Tour

 

What You'll See on the Tour

1
The Southworth Homestead

Welcome to Dryden! The first stop on this tour is the Southworth Homestead, located at 14 North Street. This house, one of the village’s earliest residences, was first owned by John Southworth (1796-1863). John was ten years old when he c... Read more
2
Dryden United Methodist Church

Located at the northeast corner of North Street and East Main Street is the Dryden United Methodist Church. With its position on the historic crossroads, this church has been an important Dryden landmark since its completion. The local Met... Read more
3
The Old McGraw Store

Located at 2 East Main Street is a modest brick building, now painted white, constructed for Joseph McGraw, Jr. (1812-1892) in 1840. McGraw was the son of early Irish immigrants to the region, and was raised in the Irish settlement of the D... Read more
4
Luther Clarke House

Located at 39 West Main Street is the Luther Clarke House. This Federal-style residence was initially constructed sometime between 1820 and 1830, making it one of the oldest surviving homes in the village. The land upon which it is situated... Read more
5
Lacy-Van Vleet House

Located at 49 West Main Street is Lacy-Van Vleet House, which now serves as the Candlelight Inn Bed & Breakfast. The construction of this handsome residence, initiated in 1828 and completed in 1845, is a symbol of Dryden’s increasing ... Read more
6
Rockwell House

Located at 52 West Main Street is the Rockwell House. This wood frame Italianate home was built between 1860 and 1866 for Erastus Rockwell, who came to Dryden from New England and is known for building a woolen mill along Virgil Creek. Resp... Read more
7
Jennings-Marvin House

Located at 9 Library Street is the Jennings-Marvin House. This eclectic home was built in 1897 for Dr. Frank Jennings, a well-respected Dryden physician. Jennie Marvin purchased the property in 1904, and resided here for many years. This ho... Read more
8
Southworth Library

Located at 24 West Main Street is the Southworth Library. The last will and testament of Jennie McGraw-Fiske (1840-1881) provided generous funds to establish a public library in Dryden in memory of her mother Rhoda Southworth McGraw (1819-1... Read more
9
The Stone Block

Located at 8 through 10 West Main Street is the Stone Block. This stately building was constructed in 1853 for Jeremiah W. Dwight (1819-1885), one of Dryden’s most prominent residents. Dwight and his partner, Isaac P. Ferguson, operated t... Read more
10
Isaac P. Ferguson House

Located at 19 South Street is the Isaac P. Ferguson House, constructed in 1865. Isaac P. Ferguson was a prominent Dryden resident during the second half of the 19th century, serving as Village Clerk in 1861 and Treasurer of the Dryden Agric... Read more
11
Jeremiah W. Dwight House

Located at 12 East Main Street is the Jeremiah W. Dwight House. The Dwight House, once known as Towering Elms for its now lost elm trees, was built in 1865 on a portion of the former Goddard farm. Jeremiah W. Dwight (1819-1885), the origina... Read more

 

Leave a Comment

 


 

Download the App

Download the PocketSights Tour Guide mobile app to take this self-guided tour on your GPS-enabled mobile device.

iOS Tour Guide Android Tour Guide

 


 

Updates and Corrections

Please send change requests to changerequest@pocketsights.com.