Created By: Pulaski County Tourism Bureau & Visitors Center
1903 COURTHOUSE, PUBLIC SQUARE: This, Pulaski County’s fourth courthouse, was built after a fire destroyed the previous courthouse in 1902. This courthouse was designed by Henry H. Hohenschild, Missouri’s State architect at the time. Bricks for the structure were fired nearby at Dr. Tice’s farm, part of which is now Waynesville City Park. Inside, look for the original Stromboli fan with wooden blades hanging in the old county clerk’s office. On the wooden stairway leading to the second floor, the original decorative spindle balustrade is just like it was in 1903. Once upstairs, visitors can see the original oak ceiling with exposed rafters and joints in the courtroom—an example of superb craftsmanship. The courthouse is one of only two-period courthouses on Missouri’s Route 66. The building now houses the Pulaski County Museum.
This point of interest is part of the tour: Waynesville Downtown Walking Tour