Created By: Ithaca Heritage
Located at 16 Elm Street is the present site of the Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast. Hermon Camp (1787-1878), one of Trumansburg’s earliest and most formidable businesspeople, was the original owner of a large tract of land of which Juniper Hill is but a part. One of Camp’s grandsons, William Pierson Biggs (1865-1947), acquired the land in 1916 for a home for himself and his wife Lydia Haines (1886-1986). A prominent local businessman, Biggs envisioned a fashionable mansion nestled on an estate of nearly four acres. William Henry Miller (1848-1922), Ithaca’s leading architect of the day, created a design for the project. However, legal delays affected the property, during which time Miller had retired. Biggs then gave the commission to architect Clinton Vivian (1861-1930), a former apprentice in Miller’s practice. Among Vivian’s changes are the Federal-style semi-circular portico at the entrance and Georgian Revival dormers that created living space on the third floor. A portion of the property may be the site of a Cayuga burial ground and an early community graveyard.
This point of interest is part of the tour: The Village of Trumansburg