144 Main - Corner Corral / North American Creamery / L.S. Jones General Merchandise Store

Ellendale Area Driving Tour

144 Main - Corner Corral / North American Creamery / L.S. Jones General Merchandise Store

Ellendale, North Dakota 58436, United States

Created By: Coleman Memorial Museum

Point of Interest Details

144 Main - Corner Corral / North American Creamery / L.S. Jones General Merchandise Store

This long, narrow brick building at the east corner of the central block of south main was the site of the L.S. Jones General Merchandise Store. Jones built the brick structure shortly after the 1916 fire. That fire destroyed all the buildings between the First National Bank and City Hall, as well as numerous buildings on the north side of east Main.

Jones ran his store for an unknown length of time, then sold the building to the North American Creamery Company. The North American Creamery was one of several local creamerys, and ran prominent ads in the Dickey County Leader both for buyers and sellers of dairy produce.

In 1954 Herb and Vi Neil purchased the building and turned it into a bar, operating under the name “Circle Bar.” In 1973 they sold it to Chuck Lowman, who operated it for two years before selling it to Dale and Janet Davis. Henceforth its name became “Dale’s Corner Corral.” It was sold to the Andersons in 1997 and is still bears the name “Corner Corral.”

A unique feature of this building is the smokestack on the south end, the largest of any of the buildings on the block. Presumably, Mr. Jones desired a large furnace, and did not want to choke the lungs of customers who parked their buggies and cars on the street next to his general merchandise store.

Jones ran his store for an unknown length of time, then sold the building to the North American Creamery Company. The North American Creamery was one of several local creamers, and ran prominent ads in the Dickey County Leader both for buyers and sellers of dairy produce.

In 1954 Herb and Vi Neil purchased the building and turned it into a bar, operating under the name “Circle Bar.” In 1973 they sold it to Chuck Lowman, who operated it for two years before selling it to Dale and Janet Davis. Henceforth its name became “Dale’s Corner Corral.” It was sold to the Andersons in 1997 and is still bears the name “Corner Corral.”

A unique feature of this building is the smokestack on the south end, the largest of any of the buildings on the block. Presumably, Mr. Jones desired a large furnace, and did not want to choke the lungs of customers who parked their buggies and cars on the street next to his general merchandise store.

This point of interest is part of the tour: Ellendale Area Driving Tour


 

Leave a Comment

 


 

Download the App

Download the PocketSights Tour Guide mobile app to take this self-guided tour on your GPS-enabled mobile device.

iOS Tour Guide Android Tour Guide

 


 

Updates and Corrections

Please send change requests to changerequest@pocketsights.com.