Created By: Licking County Library
The village of Utica was established in 1814. Its founder, Major William Robertson, purchased the land and settled the area in 1810. Originally called Wilmington, the name of the settlement was changed to Utica in September 1821 with the opening of the village’s post office. The first railroad line arrived in Utica in 1848 and the first gas well was drilled in 1898. The village experienced rapid growth in both its economy and its population with the arrival of plate glass manufacturing in 1903, creating a “boomtown” atmosphere. After the collapse of the glass industry in 1929, Utica returned to a quieter, more rural existence, yet it continued to have a commercial and manufacturing presence. Learn more about this charming village and its complex history on this tour, made in partnership with the Utica Historical Society.
Please send change requests to firstname.lastname@example.org.